Crispy Peanut Butter Granola Bars

flower

Oatmeal and waking up early to bake in the morning light will never get old for me. I often find myself reaching for making creations using this grain staple because it’s cheap and I almost always have it on hand. I’m perpetually whipping up new granola concoctions, protein bars, adding it to breads and desserts and eating it in some form as my breakfast on the daily. This site is a reflection of what I’m making and eating without any pretense, therefore oat creations may pop up regularly!

peanuts

These bars will appeal to the crunchy granola bar lovers. I love their toasty quality and how simply this all comes together. I decided to bump things up by adding my own fresh ground peanut butter, a result of not having enough store bought on hand. These are entirely customizable but I decided to go the classic route with good old raisins and peanuts. I’m hoping these measurements are on point but anytime I’m mixing up something of this nature it’s more of a matter of adding my wet and dry ingredients as I go, seeing how things look as I go along. Trust yourself and add what you like to your taste.

molasses

Ingredients

3 cups old fashioned oatmeal, 1 cup quick oats

1 cup peanuts

1 cup raisins

2 cups peanut butter of your choice (I made ½ cup fresh ground by food processing peanuts with 2 tbs maple syrup)

¼ cup molasses

2 tbs honey

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

bar 3

1/ Preheat oven to 350F.  Line a baking sheet with shallow edges with foil or parchment paper. Place oats and peanuts on sheet and toast until fragrant, about 10 minutes.

2/ In a saucepan combine peanut butter, molasses, honey, vanilla and cinnamon and heat until a smooth and homogenous consistency.

3/ Place cooled oats and peanuts in a mixing bowl. Pour peanut butter mixture over oats, add raisins or your choice of dried fruit and stir until combined. Dump mixture out onto lined baking sheet and press down until mixture is tightly packed down into a compacted layer.

4/ Bake for about 30 minutes or until the granola has lost its stickiness, is golden, and seems dense. Allow to cool on the sheet completely until you cut the sheet of granola into your desired sized bars. This step is extremely important in making sure you end up with crunchy bars and that they do not fall apart.

These are best eaten within a day or two if you leave unwrapped but will last up to a week if wrapped tightly.

vscocam363

bar

Leave a comment

Filed under Baked, Breakast, Cookies, Grains, Snacks, Sweets

Leave a Reply

