Lemon Artichoke Squash Fettuccini

lemon artichoke chicken

Recently I’ve been struggling with consistency in my writing as I’ve come to realize although I love cooking, lately I’m doing it in a very utilitarian way. I lovingly refer to my meal creations as garbage bowls and they are pretty basic but always delicious combinations of tons of greens and roughage with some protein and fat. The other beautiful flipside of this as my nature combined with the presence of this blog is that when it comes to meal time I try to be on my creative toes if just by chance I can conjure something up that looks attractive, is resourceful with the ingredients I have on hand, and is acceptable enough in its appearance to share here. I find that having the possibility of writing about whatever it is that I’m cooking or baking in the back of my mind propels me to be a bit more thoughtful in what I put together for a meal. This has helped tremendously in my enjoyment of what I fuel my body with as well as practicing intuitive eating. Before I pull out the pots and pans, I take a quick mental scan of the kitchen inventory as well as I feel like what my body is craving and get to work.

I was looking to play some more with my spiralizer so I had picked up a yellow squash and turned it into some fettucini style noodles with the switch of a blade. I was looking for something a bit more inspired to add in-lemons, a jar of artichokes, a tin of olives, wrinkly grape tomatoes and avocado called out to me and the Mediterranean theme came to be. This was so easy to throw together and the only work was some simple chopping and waiting for my chicken to bake. I’ve found the best way to cook chicken breast tenders quickly without drying it out is to set the oven at 375, rub on some coconut oil and basic seasoning and let it go for about 12-15 minutes. Making this dish reminds me to use citrus zest more often in my cooking, as the lemon microplaned over top completely brightened up the flavors.

mixed up lemon

Ingredients

serves 1

1 yellow squash, spiralized or julienned into noodles

3 oz chicken, baked

½ avocado, diced

¼ cup black olives

¼ cup grape tomatoes

4 artichoke hearts

½ of a lemon, juice and zest

1 scallion

1/ Heat 1 tbs coconut oil in a sauté pan and add in squash noodles. Heat through until slightly softened, then toss in olives, artichokes, tomatoes and warm together. Dish up, add your choice of protein, avocado, and squeeze lemon juice over top. I added lemon zest and chopped green onion for extra flavor.

Leave a comment

Filed under Entree, Proteins, Veggies

Leave a Reply

