Protein Carrot Cake Pancakes & Cream

carrot cake pancake

Protein pancakes are the new highlight in the world of making traditionally unhealthy breakfast options fit for those with nutrition on the brain. I try my best to be all about the protein through eggs & greens in the morning but sometimes I just want to scoop up some cold, crunchy cereal or push my spoon through a doughy, carby pile of oatmeal or pancakes. I like these brown breakfasts but I know that my body and energy doesn’t appreciate them as much as my mind may. Getting protein in the morning (aiming for 20-30 grams does wonders) keeps my energy sustained, my mind clear and focused and hunger at bay for at least 3 hours.

These are dense and so sweet and caramel in aroma as they cook. I have experimented many times with gluten free, protein filled pancake making and this is definitely one of my favorite combinations thus far. I ventured into a carrot cake flavor since I liked the idea of getting some vegetable in for the meal, even if it’s just a ½ cup of dainty shredded carrot. This is also a nice variation as you don’t need protein powder to fill in the gaps; the protein here (at least 20 grams from this serving) comes from simple, unrefined sources via the eggs and tofu cream if you’re feeling adventurous.

Coconut flour and brown rice flour are what I think lend the successful texture to these pancakes;  if you wanted to go grain free I would substitute the brown rice flour for almond meal or use your favorite protein powder. If you don’t have brown rice flour I think oat flour would work in just fine (Bob’s Red Mill sells this but you can just whizz up some whole oats in a food processor of spice/coffee grinder to achieve the result you need). If being gluten free and wheat free is not of any concern to you then I would give it a go with whatever your choice of flour may be but I can’t guarantee the results as I have not tried it myself!

I made the cream that is sandwiched between the cakes with the intention of mimicking a dairy free cream cheese topping. I had some leftover firm tofu in the fridge and envisioned with a couple pulses of an immersion blender that it would turn fluffy and light. I paired it with lemon juice and vanilla to create the tang and smooth sweetness of traditional cream cheese and coconut cream to help blend and add some fat so the mixture wouldn’t separate. I would only try this if you like the taste of tofu as the original flavor is still alive and well in this topping. I gobbled the whole serving up because I love having something to dip my pancakes into.

carrot cake pancakes

Ingredients

Makes about 5 small pancakes

2 whole eggs

1 egg white

2 tbs coconut flour

1 tbs brown rice flour

1 small carrot, grated

1 tbs crushed pecans

1 tbs raisins

3 tbs almond milk

½ tsp vanilla

¼ tsp maple extract (optional)

¼ tsp each of cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, ginger

Pinch stevia & sea salt (sweeten to your taste and preference of ingredient, using a liquid natural sweetener like honey or maple syrup may require you to reduce the amount of milk used)

Cream Ingredients

¼ block firm or silken tofu (silken will likely have the best texture; my choice of firm produced a slight grit in the texture but it was all I had on hand)

1.5 tbs coconut cream

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp water

Stevia to taste

carrot cake 1

1/ For the pancakes, combine flours, spices, and salt in a bowl and mix well with a fork to combine. Crack in your eggs and egg white as well as almond milk and vanilla and mix thoroughly.

2/ Stir in grated carrot, pecans and raisins until just combined. Heat up a griddle pan on medium high heat. Butter or use coconut oil to grease the pan and pour on your batter. These take a little longer to cook since the batter is thick so just wait until you see small air bubbles form on the wet batter side.

3/ For the cream I just added everything into a pyrex cup and used an immersion blender until a smooth creamy texture was formed.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakast, Grains, Sweets

One response to “Protein Carrot Cake Pancakes & Cream

  1. ericabella1545

    Reblogged this on sweettreatsyum.

Leave a Reply

