How I Move

IMG_1341

More than anything, what I want to share and teach is how to take care of yourself. What I really want to share, rather than a quantified recipe, is how I move in the kitchen.

I want to show you how nothing turns into something. For you to feel the satisfaction of ingenuity, resourcefulness, and replenishing your energy stores (perhaps a bit of your soul stock too). I’m brainstorming how to do this but perhaps sharing dinner stories if how I will manage!

When it seems like there is more appeal in giving up on the effort all together-I will make you something nourishing. There is (almost) always the ability to generate a meal. First matter in being able to do this, as I understand, is the knowledge of what to have brought in to your space in the first place.

Always have vegetables on hand. Keep carrots, potatoes, and frozen vegetables-these can all easily become the foundation for a meal; stir fry, curries, omelet dinners, roasted with garlic, gratins. Green things like broccoli and kale have a tendency to stick around for a while too; I do not fear using broccoli gone a little yellow at the top or kale a little wilted. Saute, do not throw away.

Never underestimate the power of the vegetable to uplift your dinner plate and make you feel more balanced. These items can be finagled into many interesting things and will suit one scrappy recipe or another.

Know how to make soup. It is the most forgiving and the most comforting thing in the world. I think there’s some kind of magic in that combination. The other night, all seemed barren and I managed to turn some of the items mentioned above into a lovely blend-carrots, an onion, garlic, a bag of frozen butternut squash and a small apple was simmered until soft in enough water just to cover. With the help of an immersion blender and a general dose of sea salt and a small administration of oregano, basil, thyme, rosemary (the poultry seasonings), we had a meal to sit down to. Alongside some balsamic roasted mushrooms, red onion, and broccoli. All topped with cumin roasted chickpeas at your discretion (like vegetables, a nice stock of various legumes is a nice option for a animal protein-less night).

I’ve been enjoying everything simplified lately, but I still love my super food add-ins. My latest tip is to blend a tablespoon of grass-fed collagen powder into a hot soup for an extra nourishing protein and gut healing boost. Functional nutrition and satisfaction, yes please!

3 Comments

Filed under Advice, Soups & Stews, Veggies

3 responses to “How I Move

  1. Maureen

    Very inspiring, thank you. I LOVE soup! Do you recommend a certain brand of grass fed collagen powder?

  2. Maureen

    Great thank you!

Leave a Reply

