Guidance

I absolutely feel her spirit moving through me.
Perhaps its the way my smile feels held in my cheeks,
I think it may look like yours.

I feel the stir of your wit and joy humming in my heart.
Your grace and beauty and love. The sharpness of your gaze and the roll of your laugh.
Your ingenuity and courage and fervor.

I look through my eyes and I see you holding me by the shoulders, planting me into the ground, imbuing me with your power and warmth.
Self love, beauty, dissolving into laughter and seeking trouble and banter.
Afternoon indulgences, the continuous decoration, the belief in your femininity.

I haven’t a clue as to anything,
All I have is the shift that I’ll feel, a tap on my shoulder. The love I have for taking care of other people,
Of exploring and providing and creating, always growing within me.

Pies glittering on the table,
Cakes frosted with the flick of your wrist
and something on the stove too.

A seed inherited from you,
The innate knowledge of the just right feel of ice water to flour to butter pinched between my fingers,
The vision for taking this and that and then nourishing him, her, you and me.

Knowing when to stir, to add, or let it be.

IMG_1579.CR2

2 Comments

Filed under Creative Writing, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Guidance

  1. Jb

    Your so very fortunate to be able to feel those things and we are so fortunate in your ability to share them.

  2. Jan Quaritius

    Your are such a gift! Tha most amazing words of wisdom and caring
    So beautiful … We will miss her and yet you are able to channel all of her love for you onto others . I love you Em
    Jq

Leave a Reply

